California Mobile Home Laws

California Mobile Home Laws

The laws in California regarding mobile home parks are set to provide requirements for the fees, permits and responsibilities which can be charged and enforced by the park owners.  These laws are known as the “Mobilehome Parks Act” and the “Special Occupancy Parks Act”. These laws are overseen and enforced by the Department of Housing and Community Development.  These laws were established to provide for rights governing mobile home leases and agreements. The Mobile home Residency Law is aimed specifically to the mobile home park owners and their tenants.

There can be differences between standard California residential tenant laws and laws governing mobile home park owners.  One such difference is that mobile home tenants are not allowed to use the ‘normal’ repair and deduct options which are allowed in a standard rental agreement or lease.  In California, the repair and deduct option allows for tenants to deduct costs of necessary repairs from their rent payments, as long as written notice of necessary repairs has been sent to the landlord.  While this isn’t an available option to mobile home park tenants, they may file an official complaint with the California Department of Housing. If this is the case, you, as the mobile home park owner, may need the services of a lawyer for landlords.  

Tenants in California are protected under the law regarding the amount which can be charged to tenants upfront for security deposits. Trailer park owners are not allowed to charge tenants more than two months’ rent for security deposits. Other differences in the law cover the raising of rents. Park owners are required to  provide tenants with a written notice at least 90 days prior to an increase in rent. The law further gives the park resident 30 days to review the increase. He or she then may decide to terminate the long-term lease and/or enter into a month to month rental agreement. 

Tenants may only be evicted for cause, not at the will of the landlord. The landlord must provide to  tenants a 60-day notice of the intent to terminate the Mobile home park lease or agreement, along with the reason for the termination.  The tenant has the right to “cure” the violation, unless the violation involves illegal activity or is putting the community in danger.

Knowing the laws regarding mobile home tenants is crucial to you, as the owner of the park.  Be sure you are operating correctly under the law to avoid costly lawsuits and filings of complaints.  Contact a Lawyer for Landlords today .

 

No Comments

Post A Comment